If you are planning to integrate your external post-production vendor via an FTP-Server, the following information is important to know:

Transfer of assets to an external vendor FTP

The assets are transferred to a defined upload folder on an FTP-Server. The upload folder can be defined in the Studio Settings / Post-Production.

Dedicated structure/naming for transfer folder 

When files are getting transferred, Creative Force can automatically create a subfolder on the FTP and upload the assets into it. These subfolders can be defined on Style guide, production type and position level.

You can read more about the setup here

Asset filename

The vendor will receive the assets correctly named according to the naming conventions set up in Style guides / Photography. A renaming of the assets from the vendor is not necessary.

You can read more about the setup of the final asset naming here.

Transfer of color references (Optional workflow setting)

Creative Force will automatically add a color reference file to the upload if defined in the related workflow.

The color reference file will be named according to the naming conventions set up in the Style guide. A mandatory property to use for the naming is the product code.

Example naming: color-ref-12345678_1.jpg

You can read more about the naming here:

The color reference can be deleted by the vendor after finalising the post-production and should not be delivered back to Creative Force.

Logfile

Creative Force will add a Log-file for every upload once the transfer is completed.
The log-file can be triggered by the vendor to start the download of the assets

The Log-file is named: ProductCode-transfer-completed.log
The Log-file contains a list of all uploaded files including their directories on the FTP-Server.

Instructions

Individual instructions can be added to an image via Creative Force by an art director or photographer during production. If instructions are added, Creative force uploads an additional HTML-file for every asset with instruction.

The naming of the Instructions file is following the defined asset naming convention and adds -instructions.html to the end of the file name

Example: 0001234_12345678_OM_FV_1-instruction.html

Instruction can be viewed by opening the HTML file in your browser.

Rejections

If assets are getting rejected in External Post QC, Creative Force will create a subfolder in the upload folder called "Rejected". Creative Force will upload an HTML-file to the rejected folder for every rejected asset including the originally uploaded asset.

The naming of the rejection file is following the defined asset naming convention and adds -rejection.html to the end of the file name.

Example: 0001234_12345678_OM_FV_1-rejection.html

Rejections can be viewed by opening the HTML-file in your browser.

To solve a rejection, the corrected assets must be uploaded to the download folder again. 

Import of assets back to Creative Force from an external vendor FTP

All assets must be transferred back to a defined download folder on the FTP-server.
The folder can be defined in the Studio Settings / Post-Production.

The assets do not have to be delivered in the same folder structure they have been uploaded -  they can be delivered without structure.

Color references, Log files or instruction files should not be delivered back.

Very important

The metadata of the file is not allowed be deleted or changed - it is required to stay as received to be able to get imported back to Creative Force.


Clean-up Setting for FTP Vendor

We have a setting to the External Post Production Vendor set-up enabling the clean up of FTP Download folder.
You can now select from the following options:

  • Archive (default value)
  • Delete
  • Disabled

Where Archive is selected, the files returned to Creative Force will be moved to a folder called '_CF-Archived-Files' on the vendor's FTP

If Delete is selected, the files are removed from the Vendor's FTP on receipt of the images in Creative Force

If the setting is Disabled, images will remain in the 'Download folder until they are manually removed by the Vendor.

Please note, the user credentials entered into the Vendor set-up to must have 'write' permissions to the Vendor's FTP.

Did this answer your question?